Doors close….doors open

In other news, I was furloughed today. Very disappointing but not entirely unexpected given my position on the seniority list. Given the budgetary concerns in my district, my best case scenario was to make it through next year before this happened.

But like Dory says, “Just keep swimming!” Time to dust off the old resume and update it. The most grueling part will probably be the endless professional statements on PAREAP.  What is your philosophy on classroom management? What are the component parts of a “lesson plan”? (shudder…)

I have been a busy bee for the past four years, and I have a ton of good experiences that I can leverage to legitimately sell myself. But I definitely do not want to just rush in to the first available job and be in the same, or worse, position next year. I want to find a good fit for my teaching style, and where I want to be as a teacher in 5-10 years. I’m probably going to just take some time over the summer to explore my options, develop my portfolio, and maybe do a little tutoring.

In the meantime, I’ve got to close out the year, pack up my classroom, and finish two grad classes.

Just keep swimming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *